BOZEMAN — Forty-six individuals associated with Montana State University will be honored during the university’s homecoming festivities, set for Sept. 25-30. Awards to be given include Blue and Gold Awards and unit awards.

Blue and Gold Awards

The Blue and Gold Award is one of the most prestigious awards that MSU grants. It honors individuals who have rendered excellent lifetime service or brought national or international distinction to MSU or the state of Montana.

To receive the award, candidates must have achieved prominence through service to one or more of the following: profession, family, country, world, university, philanthropy or humanity. The biographies of this year’s Blue and Gold awardees are available at The 2023 Blue and Gold Award winners are:

  • Dennis Erickson, College of Education, Health and Human Development
  • Darrell Hueth, College of Agriculture
  • Duane Nellis, College of Letters and Science
  • Nancy Seleski, Norm Asbjornson College of Engineering
  • Melanie Stocks, Bobcat Athletics and Auxiliary Services

Unit awards

In partnership with various campus units, these awards recognize alumni and friends of MSU who attain distinctive success in their chosen field or profession or perform outstanding service to their community. Honorees are recommended by faculty and staff and selected by the dean or program director of the nominating unit. Click HERE for information about the individual awards.

Unit award recipients are listed below by unit, award and name: Those highlighted in blue are from north central Montana. Click on their names for their bios from the MSU Alumni Foundation website.

College of Agriculture

College of Arts and Architecture

  • Distinguished staff award: Noelle Child
  • Entrepreneurial alumni award: James Corwin
  • Alumni achievement award: Larry Hurlbert
  • Alumni achievement award: Brittany Nelson
  • Alumni achievement award: Logan Stahley
  • Honorary alumni award: Byoung Soo Cho

Jake Jabs College of Business and Entrepreneurship

College of Education, Health and Human Development

  • Distinguished faculty award: Rebecca Koltz
  • Distinguished staff award: Katarzyna Maison
  • Alumni achievement award: Michael Munson
  • Alumni achievement award: Matthew Pierson

Norm Asbjornson College of Engineering

  • Honorary alumni award: Larry and Anne Hambly
  • Young alumni achievement award: Lindsey Hanna

College of Letters and Science

  • Honorary alumni award: Patrik Callis
  • Early career faculty award: William Fassbender
  • Alumni achievement award: Risa Scott
  • Alumni achievement award: Joey Valis Shapiro Key

Mark and Robyn Jones College of Nursing

  • Alumni achievement award: Mikel Allen
  • Distinguished staff award: Michelle Baker
  • Honorary alumni award: Ann Galloway
  • Valued MSU partner award: Carolynn Sylvester

Honors College

  • Honorary alumni award: Bruce Campbell
  • Distinguished faculty award: Donald Demetriades
  • Distinguished staff award: Natalie McKay
  • Alumni achievement award: Bryan Vadheim

MSU Alumni Foundation

MSU Extension

Museum of the Rockies

  • Alumni achievement award: Mary Schweitzer

More From KSEN AM 1150