BOZEMAN – The College of Agriculture at Montana State University is seeking nominations for its Outstanding Agricultural Leader award, which will be presented during the annual Celebrate Agriculture Weekend Nov. 3-4 at MSU. The deadline to submit nominations is Aug. 30.

The award recognizes individuals, families or businesses that have gone above and beyond for the Montana agricultural industry in the realms of public service, advocacy, production or business. Awardees will be honored during the Celebrate Ag breakfast event on Nov. 4 ahead of the Bobcat football agriculture appreciation game against the Northern Arizona University Lumberjacks.

Nominations can be submitted online HERE.

Past recipients include:

  • 2022 Jay Bodner, Helena/Raynesford
  • 2021 Dave Kelsey, Molt
  • 2019 Buzz Mattelin, Culbertson
  • 2018 on Ueland, Butte (awarded posthumously)
  • 2017 David Oien, Ulm
  • 2016 Jim Hagenbarth, Dillon
  • 2015 Max & Kirsti Cederberg, Turner; Lola Raska, Belt
  • 2014 Don Burnham, Helena; Sky Anderson & Monica Switzer, Shields Valley
  • 2013 Bing Von Bergen, Moccasin; Tom & Mary Kay Milesnick, Belgrade
  • 2012; Dale Schuler, Carter; Larry & Madge Pilster, Alzada
  • 2011 Diana Bailey, Bozeman; Dan Lake, Ronan; Richard Owen, Geraldine
  • 2010 Dan Kidd, Big Sandy; Janice Mattson, Chester
  • 2009 John Swanz, Judith Gap; John Youngberg, Belgrade
  • 2008 Taylor Brown, Huntley; Les Graham, Bozeman
  • 2007; John Paugh, Belgrade
  • 2006 Lochiel Edwards, Big Sandy; Tom Jurenka, Hysham; Gary Broyles, Rapelje
  • 2005 Tom & Carol Peterson, Wilsall Jake Cummins, Bozeman; Jon & Sharla Tester, Big Sandy
  • 2004 Bob Hanson, White Sulphur Springs; Donald Fast, Glasgow; Chuck McGlothlin, Park City; Gene Surber, Bozeman
  • 2003 Robert, Ann & Earl Boettcher, Big Sandy; Harlin & Jodi Steiger, Forsyth
  • 2002 Kevin Halverson, Big Timber; David L. McClure, Lewistown
  • 2001Greg Gould, Aimee Hachigian-Gould & sons; Brandon & Andrew, Ulm; Vern & Naomi Pluhar, Cohagen
  • 2000; Don & Bernadine Lake, Ronan; Ralph Peck, Helena ; Ole Ueland, Silver Bow and Deer Lodge counties
  • 1999 Lynn Cornwell, Glasgow; Don Herzog, Rapelje; Bob Bellows, Miles City; Magnus Aasheim, Antelope

“Celebrate Agriculture Weekend is always a highlight of our fall semester, and the opportunity to recognize the many people who help our agricultural industry thrive is something we look forward to all year,” said MSU Vice President for Agriculture and Dean Sreekala Bajwa. “Collaboration and connection are what make our work so gratifying, and welcoming our friends and colleagues to Bozeman is always a welcome opportunity to deepen those connections.”

The selection committee for the Outstanding Agricultural Leader award comprises past chairpersons of the Montana Agricultural Experiment Station Advisory Council; the College of Agriculture’s Academic Advisory Committee and development board; a current faculty member; and a member of the College of Agriculture Student Advisory Council.

To be considered for the award, nominees must be well respected in their agricultural community with accomplishments that have wide impact; be an industry leader or an emerging and active innovative producer; and be actively involved in the agriculture industry.

Active MSU or government employees are only eligible for the award’s “Friend of the COA/MAES” category. Retired university or government employees will be considered if they have been retired for at least two years and have shown service above and beyond their job description. Nominees who are not selected will be reconsidered in future years, but application forms should be updated.

Hard copies of the nomination form can be requested by calling the College of Agriculture dean’s office at 406-994-3681.

Celebrate Agriculture Weekend is an annual event to honor Montana’s agricultural legacy and current and future agricultural leaders, producers and students. For more information about Celebrate Agriculture and a full agenda, click HERE.

- MSU News Service -

More From KSEN AM 1150